2003 Inferno B.A.T.

As time goes by, and there’s less and less G.I. Joe stuff to buy at reasonable prices, I’ve found myself purchasing figures that I’ve never owned, had a desire to own, or put any effort into owning. On one hand there’s some figures that are real duds, that I now have, but some that were fairly interesting and just never on my radar have also joined my collection. I’m not entirely sure where the Inferno B.A.T. actually lands on the scale, but I do find myself enjoying the figure.

The early 2000s G.I. Joe revival, has some fundamental flaws to it, but it was nice to see Hasbro put a legitimate effort into reviving G.I. Joe, without it being entirely an exercise in “The Good Old Days That Never Were”. Though I think a figure like this, that is translucent and a robot, would probably have been a better decision for a mass retail release, than that of a third of a collector’s oriented 6-pack, that you might not have even received, if you ordered it from The Store on 44. Hasbro was actually fairly cutting edge with some of the stuff they attempted during the 2000s Joe revival, but the corporate internet was in it’s infancy, and the Joe community wasn’t quite understood by Hasbro, so these experiments wound up not succeeding the way they could have.

2002Inferno

1991 features some of the best quality designs and sculpting in the entire catalog of O-Ring figures. The quality of sculpting had improved year over year for 10 years at this point, and the designs hadn’t gotten out of hand at the point, due to the need to compete with the growing larger scale competition in the Action Figure line.  The 1991 B.A.T. is no exception, it retains numerous aspects of the original 1986 B.A.T., but streamlines them into a new take on the figure. It’s sleeker, and does not feature any of the sculpted on weaponry of the original. While it’s less detailed, I think the removal of the grenade and pistol is an interesting take on the evolution of the Battle Android Trooper. I like to think that the manufacturing of the B.A.T.s must’ve become cheaper and easier to do, so the need to provide them arms was deemed unnecessary.

Since I’d never owned this figure, I was actually quite surprised by how many paint apps the figure received. The copper and black colouring on the figure provide some contrast, and if you hold the figure up to a light source, it really glows, and the black bands on the thighs and the black visor really do a lot to provide some levels of what’s what.  Where the black really winds up being a strong design part, is it helps to cover up the big issue a lot of transparent figures have, and that’s the black O-Ring “guts” of the figure. The copper is nice as well, since it’s really unusual for a G.I. Joe colour, and matches well with both the red and black. It also works well because it’s a metallic colour on a robotic character.

This figure is an interesting idea, the translucent plastic is viable for a robotic character, and translucent red is probably the best look they could’ve gone with, and the overall theory on the Inferno B.A.T. being a B.A.T. that overheats to the point it glows red hot is a silly concept, but no sillier than mute commandos, or a USAF Pilot flying a Navy fighter jet. However, a reasonably bright, and gimmicky figure like the Inferno B.A.T. is probably a better example of something that’s going to appeal to kids (G.I. Joe’s then target market), then a lot of the actual retail releases. There were numerous examples of this, where a figure with probably more cross over appeal than a lot of retail releases, was squandered because of failures to understand what the early 2000s Collector wanted. I know Hasbro did wind up releasing a translucent figure or two as a retail figure later on in the G.I. Joe revival, but it was too late, and I still think the Valor vs. Venom line was too far gone, even for kids. It veered too far into fantasy, had action features that negatively impacted figures, and featured worse overall sculpts and designs.

InfernoBAT

The specialization of the Inferno B.A.T. is a novel take on the Robot Soldier. Rather than just be a mindless killing machine, the Inferno B.A.T. being a robot that heats up to the point of exploding. I figure that would a legitimately terrifying battlefield opponent. Seeing something glowing red rushing towards you is going to make you reconsider your path in life. It’s a neat concept and the execution of the figure is better than one would imagine, the figure kind of reminds me of a stove element glowing hot, which is kind of the way I think a robot designed to reach critical temperatures before exploding would wind up looking.

Robots in G.I. Joe are one of those strange barriers between fantasy and science fiction that can be somewhat of an issue for some collectors. On one hand Robots are a thing that do indeed exist. Not really to the level of the Battle Android Trooper, which is where some of the real issues arise. At the end of the day, I just think this is a figure that looks cool, and the existence of robots and how advanced they could be is something I’m not going to fret over. I’m more concerned with making this figure look like he’s running the same way David Byrne did in the Talking Heads music video for “Road To Nowhere”.

I picked this figure up because it was going to be “new” to me, and it was cheap. I wound up really liking this figure, because it was such a departure from what is the G.I. Joe norm to me, and I had a lot of fun with it. I don’t need more than one, and I’m certain that this is a figure that will not maintain much in the way of long term appeal to me, but it was a fun distraction, and sometimes with G.I. Joe, that’s all you can ask for.

03Inferno

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2003 Inferno B.A.T.

  1. Mike T. says:

    I’ve come around on this figure just because he was so different from anything Hasbro released in that era, especially when it came to ARAH repaints. His appearance in the army building pack probably wasn’t the best decision. Though, replacing Overkill with another black BAT probably would have been the better change.

    I got rid of all buy one of these guys and that was a mistake. At least they remain relatively cheap. As recently as a year or so ago, you could still find big lots of them that weren’t pricey per figure. I’m not sure I need 40 of them. But, another 2 or 3 wouldn’t be terrible.

    Hasbro really tried to make online sales work with Joe. But, it failed every time. There were supposed to be 10,000 BAT packs. But, dealers couldn’t buy enough. You had to buy $10,000 minimum which was about 1250 sets. More than most dealers could handle. So, the surplus went to Toysrus.com and even Tuesday Morning.

  2. A-Man says:

    Great photos.
    I still dislike this figure. As a novelty item, it’s okay. As a toy isn’t not great. Any toy where you can see the plastic grind away as you move the joints doesn’t speak well of long term durability.

    It was a lousy choice for an already questionable trooper builder set and I believe history shows I am right. How many, many, many army builder dios and set-ups have there been since this figures release? Notice how so, so few feature Inferno BAT? Yet, there are thousands of the figures out there. I guess robot Kool-Aid Man isn’t popular. If this figure were Cobra blue would be be seen more? Yes. Solid crimson red? Probably. Snow White and the seven dwarves? What?

    Side note dislike, the grenade launcher should’ve been black, and the MK 2 Bat’s should’ve been gun metal/silver like its hands. Of course, you can give Inferno BAT the MK2’s black launcher but then MK is stuck with a red one.

  3. Sam Smith says:

    When I got back into collecting Joe (the first time) back in the early 2000s, I kept an eye out for 86 BATs. But they were always so spendy! I could never afford them. :(( And the price has only increased in the decades since. As a result, to this day, I have not been able to find a 86 BAT for a decent price. It is one of the few remaining vintage figures missing from my collection. (For example, I was able to purchase most
    of the Night Force figures for less than the typical, complete 86 BAT, which is saying something because BATs are not rare.)

    So I was stoked when Hasbro released this BAT set back in 2003. I snapped it up! (I did not realize at the time tjat i was one of the lucky ones who was able to order it 🤷‍♂️). Overkill is dumb, but the rest of the set rocks! The black and yellow version is a great substitute for the 86 BAT (imho). The figures have been quite durable — literally no breakage issues to date — and have remained oddly cheap over the years. (Yes, please keep trashing these dudes, everyone! I will happily snap them all up lol 😆).

    Okkkk, the inferno version… WHAT A COOL IDEA! In my imagination, these dudes either (1) glows red hot from overuse, which I think is from the filecard, (2) is a walking, sqwalking flamethrower, or (3) is a kamikaze trooper that even normal BATs don’t walk in front of… I mean, c’mon, the red translucent plastic just *oozes* coolness and imagination.

    My opinion may not be the most popular, but I have always thought that these 2003 BATS are the apex usage of the 91 BAT mold. Even the chest decal is so much cooler than the 91 version. Highly, highly recommended.

    Assuming Hasbro really does relaunch o-rings in 2022, I would not be opposed to a re-release of the translucent BAT, or any translucent robot figure for that matter, so long as it’s not a blue ninja 🙄 .

  4. mwnekoman says:

    The Inferno BAT’s a cool figure, and one that I’m glad exists. Clear plastic is a neat gimmick and it was good to see it creatively implemented for GI Joe.

    The only downside to this figure though, is that he is really hard to get much use out of. When I first got them, I tended to use them as walking bombs, and would give them black Torch backpacks to further represent that. My mindset was that these were salvaged, battle-damaged BATs that were too far gone to repair, so Cobra rigged them as bombs and sent them on their way.

    But that’s still very niche, and including two of them in a collector targeted army-building set, was probably not the best choice. To me, it seems like this would’ve made more sense as a retail figure, given that the clear plastic may have been interesting looking for a kid too. I think this set might’ve performed better if this guy and Overkill had been replaced by something similar to the Headhunter BAT.

  5. The Green Meanie says:

    (Mike T) “I’m not sure I need 40 of them. But, another 2 or 3 wouldn’t be terrible.”
    I do believe that I may have the largest collection of these figures, at last count around +110.

    I’m a really huge fan of this particular figure, mainly because 1) I’m really into robots and 2) I absolute love translucent figures. The fact that this one is plentiful and rather unpopular makes it even better for me.

    One thing I wasn’t that big of a fan of was the color scheme, though I’ve painted most of mine to match the filecard: https://flic.kr/p/o78jLW

  6. Pingback: 2005 Firefly (TRU Crimson 6 Pack) | Attica Gazette

  7. Pingback: 2005 Backblast (Winter Ops) | Attica Gazette

  8. Pingback: 2004 COBRA Infantry Forces | Attica Gazette

Leave a comment